#florida #board #of #occupational #therapy, #florida, #board #of #occupational #therapy, #license, #licensing, #licensure, #renew, #renewal, #renewing, #applicant, #application #status, #apply #online, #renew #online, #requirements, #process, #fees, #continuing #education, #continuing #education, #statutes, #laws, #rules, #codes, #occupational #therapy, #occupational #therapist, #occupational #therapist #assistant, #look #up, #verify, #complaints, #professionals, #consumer
By submitting the appropriate renewal fees to the department, a licensee acknowledges compliance with all requirements for renewal, including continuing education.
A licensee who remains on inactive status for more than two consecutive biennial licensure cycles and who wishes to reactivate the license may be required to demonstrate competency to resume active practice by sitting for a special purpose examination or by completing other reactivation requirements.
1 Null Void -The licensed practitioner failed to renew their licensure status for two renewal cycles, resulting in their license expiring.
The information provided is an overview only and licensees are encouraged to become familiar with the profession’s continuing education rules, Chapter 64B11-5.001 Chapter 64B11-6.001. Florida Administrative Code, to ensure that they meet the Board’s specific requirements for renewal.
Continuing Education (CE) Requirements
Required Subject Area
Required Number of Hours
The current licensure biennium: 03/01/17 – 02/28/19. Current licenses expire at midnight, Eastern Time, on February 28, 2019 .
First Biennium Renewal: Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants renewing a license for the first time and were licensed in the second half of the biennium (on or after 03/01/18) are exempt from general continuing education. You are required to complete 2 hours in prevention of medical errors and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS. For the HIV/AIDS 1 hour (for first renewal only) requirement, the board approves any course approved by any of the professions regulated within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance, the Department of Health.
Continuing education hours can only be credited after one is licensed and within the current biennium dates in which they are taken.
Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants renewing a license for the first time and were licensed in the first half of the biennium (03/01/17 – 02/28/18) are required to complete all 26 as stated above, including the HIV/AIDS 1 hour (for first renewal only) requirement. The board approves any course approved by any of the professions regulated within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance, the Department of Health.
Even though you were required to complete a 2 hour course in prevention of medical errors for initial licensure purposes (if licensed before July 1, 2018), you must complete an additional 2 hours of prevention of medical errors for each renewal.
Board Rule Approved Providers
- Approved providers and courses listed in CEBroker
- To find approved Continuing Education courses, Go to www.cebroker.com
- Select “Course Search”, Select State: “Florida”, Profession, Choose Course, Type, Subject Areas, etc.
- You may then visit the individual providers websites for further information to make your selection of which courses you wish to take.
Other Methods of Obtaining Continuing Education per Biennium
- Up to 5 hours per biennium: Development or Participation in Practice-Related Research Project and Learning through Alternative Media (video, audio, software programs)
- Up to 6 hours per biennium: Level II OT/OTA Field Work Experience Supervision and Volunteer Expert Witness Service
- Up to 8 hours per biennium: Course Presentations and Attendance at Board meetings
- Up to 10 hours per biennium: Publications Related to Occupational Therapy Practice
- Up to 1 – 10 hours per biennium for Publications. A licensee may earn the following continuing education credit for publication of a peer-reviewed or non peer-reviewed book, chapter, or article directly related to the practice of occupational therapy:
- Up to 10 hours as the author of a book;
- Up to 5 hours as author of a chapter;
- Up to 3 hours as author of a peer-reviewed article;
- Up to 1 hour as author of a non peer-reviewed article; and
- Up to 5 hours as an editor of a book; Documentation shall consist of a full reference for the publication including title, author, editor, and date of publication. See 64B11-6.001 (12), F.A.C.
- Up to 4 hours per biennium: Performance of Pro Bono Services to the indigent as provided in Section 456.013(9), F.S. or to underserved populations, or in areas of critical need within the state where the licensee practices. In order to receive credit under this rule, licensees must make a request to the Board and receive approval in advance. One (1) hour credit for each two (2) hours worked. See 64B11-6.001 (15), F.A.C.
- Live vs. Home Study CEs. A minimum of fourteen (14) of the twenty-six (26) CE hours required for licensure renewal must be “live”. Live CE includes approved face-to-face course presentations and interactive, real-time courses that may be web-based, satellite transmitted, hosted via telephone or video conference, or an online instruction program that allows or requires the licensee to interact in real time, including live chat, with the instructor during the presentation of the program. Presentations that do not contain the real-time ability to communicate with the instructor would fall under the “home study” category.
- No more than 12 hours of home study courses are allowed. Home study education is independent study and requires a certificate of completion. Home study education does not include a web-based, satellite transmitted or on-line instruction program that allows or requires the licensee to interact or communicate back and forth with the instructor during the presentation of the program.
- The Board s measurement for Continuing Education hours is by contact hours. One (1) contact hour equals a minimum of fifty (50) minutes. One half (1/2 or .5) contact hours equals a minimum of twenty-five (25) minutes.
- FREE 3 HOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE
For Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapy Assistants the Florida Department of Health and the Florida Medical Association (FMA) collaborated to design a Healthiest Weight: A Life Course Approach and offer a FREE 3 hour Continuing Education/ Continuing Medical Education (CE/CME) course that can be accessed through TRAIN Florida .Once on the TRAIN Florida website, use your login information or, if you do not have an account, click create account and then login. The course can be accessed either by searching by title DOH Healthiest Weight: A Life Course Approach or course ID 1053825. After you complete the course, TRAIN Florida requires an Assessment and Evaluation be completed for submission to CE Broker for continuing education credit.